Five Core Philosophies

Education of the “Whole Child”

We address each student’s academic/ intellectual, social/emotional, moral/character and physical/sensory needs as we plan instruction and engage students in educational experiences.

Human Development Education

Human development education is the cornerstone of our educational program. This approach recognizes and honors the fact that all humans go through the same basic stages of development, but they progress at different paces. The continuous progress/mastery learning system, utilized at the Academy, is the organizational framework that supports the human development education approach.

High Expectations

Within the human development education, the teaching staff plans instruction with high expectations for each student’s ability to master new learning. High expectations result from a strong belief in the inherent goodness and unlimited potential of each student that fosters high student performance.

Internal Motivation Psychology

Internal Motivation Psychology is practiced at CSA to support, promote and develop independent choice of students that lead them to perform at their best, to develop higher level thinking skills, and to identify core values that will guide them throughout their school and adult life. The internal motivation psychology approach at CSA includes the following four components:

  • Teachers and staff have knowledge of the human development characteristics of the age group of their students and they apply that information in the organization of their classroom environment, in their daily instruction, and in their relationships with students.
  • Teachers and staff focus on building positive relationships. They model and teach the seven caring habits and six character traits that students are expected to learn and demonstrate in the school environment. They teach and apply the basic core democratic values in the classroom with regard to respect for the individual as well as to our responsibility for the “common good.”
  • Teachers and staff teach social protocols and procedures to bring organization and order through established routines in the learning environment. As students learn the procedures and protocols, they understand the expectations for their participation, interactions, and navigation in the school setting.
  • The CSA District Board of Directors has adopted a “no tolerance” school safety policy for major conduct violations such as violence, insubordination, weapons, drugs, bullying and harassment.

Continuous Mastery Learning Model

The continuous progress/mastery learning model provides a process that allows students to move through the curriculum at their own pace.

  • Elementary: the expectation for mastery of the essential curriculum is designated for each learning unit before students move on to the next unit.
  • Middle School and High School: this model is framed within a two to three- year course-of-study credit system. Students move at an individualized pace through a differentiated instructional model. The continuous progress schedule is based on a 3-term school year. Learning units are non-graded and multi-age in their organizational design.